That Flying Bird…

Few months ago I wrote (in portuguese) about my worst-case scenario about the result of all the mess in US and specially Europe. Basically, the US and parts of Europe would recede to some kind of authoritarian government. I still don’t believe in this, actually, but I think we can’t take things for granted.

I remebered all this due to some reading at the Crooked Timber. I’ll quote what Chris Bertram wrote:

My worst-case fantasy scenario has Cameron [Prime Minister of UK] calling a snap General Election on nationalist themes, getting a majority dominated by swivel-eyed propertarian xenophobes and dismantling the welfare state, the Health Service, the BBC etc. Riots and civil disorder would be met with force, and those driven to resistance or crime would be incarcerated in giant new prisons. The Scots would then, understandably, opt for independence, and England and Wales would be left at the mercy of the crazies for several decades. Texas-on-Thames, in short.

For now, I’ll just keep watching the events. I guess Keynes said once (but I couldn’t confirm it with google) that “investment was a flying bird”. Maybe democracy is another flying bird.

Sobre Manoel Galdino

Corinthiano, Bayesiano e Doutor em ciência Política pela USP.
Esse post foi publicado em english, Manoel Galdino, Política e Economia e marcado , , , , , , . Guardar link permanente.

Deixe uma resposta

