Meu lado Hipster

Quando disseram que eu era (ou estava) hipster, não sei se foi a primeira vez que ouvi a palavra – provavelmente não -, mas em minha memória consciente tudo se passa como se tivesse sido a primeira vez. Não sabia o que queria dizer, e desde então tenho tido uma certa fixação pela palavra. Depois falaram que eu não era nada hipster.

hipstermickey_wonderground_w495_h580

Fui pra Nova Iorque em agosto-setembro, e um dos melhores passeios envolveu uma caminhada entre um bairro dos judeus e um bairro de… hipsters. Foi lá, sob influência dos hipsters de Williamsburg (Brooklyn), que decidir comer mais salada e fazer um regime e tentar levar a sério minha ideia de vir de bike pro trabalho (not accomplished) e comprar um óculos novo (também not accomplished).

Eis que então eu descubro que o termo não é exatamente novo. Norman Mailer escreveu um artigo na Dissent, em 1957, “The White Negro”. Coloco abaixo a epígrafe do texto do Mailer.

Mas minha conclusão é que eu tenho mesmo um lado hipster. E estou feliz em saber disso. Às vezes é preciso refletir sobre a própria identidade para se colocar no mundo.

Our search for the rebels of the generation led us to the hipster. The hipster is an enfant terrible turned inside out. In character with his time, he is trying to get back at the conformists by lying tow … You can’t interview a hipster because his main goal is to keep out of a society which, he thinks, trying to make everyone over in its own image. He takes marijuana because it supplies him with experiences that can’t be shared with “squares.” He may affect a broad-brimmed hat or a zoot suit, but usually he prefers to skulk unmarked. The hipster may be a jazz musician; he is rarely an artist, almost never a writer. He may earn his living as a petty criminal, a hobo, a carnival roustabout or a free-lance moving man in Greenwich Village, but some hipsters have found a safe refuge in the upper income brackets as television comics or movie actors. (The late James Dean, for one, was a hipster hero.)… it is tempting to describe the hipster in psychiatric terms as infantile, but the style of his infantilism is a sign of the times, lie does not try to enforce his will on others, Napoleon-fashion, but contents himself with a magical omnipotence never disproved because never tested. … . As the only extreme nonconformist of his generation, he exercises a powerful if underground appeal for conformists, through newspaper accounts of his delinquencies, his structureless jazz, and his emotive grunt words.
—“Born 1930: The Unlost Generation” by Caroline Bird Harper’s Bazaar, Feb. 1957

Sobre Manoel Galdino

Corinthiano, Bayesiano e Doutor em ciência Política pela USP.
Esse post foi publicado em Arte e Cultura, Manoel Galdino, orquídeas selvagens e marcado , , , , . Guardar link permanente.

Deixe uma resposta

