I almost forgot the Friday post!

I actually don’t have anything that important to write, but I’d like to share with you some news about me and a thought I’ve have wondering about for a while:

First, the news: I’m in a new job, doing data analysis (big data!). It’s quaite exciting to me, since I’ll have to deal with big data (really big, several gigabytes, probably more than 10 gigabytes) to estimate models and predict behaviour of clients.

Second, and totally unrelated to my job, I read this post at the Crooked Timber, and was wondering about what do make a persona troll. I mean, I see several people being labeled a troll, but sometimes they’re just desagreeing with a bloger. Where’s the limit? What are good evidence that someone is indeed a troll? How to find a good compromise between minimizing the number of trolls (true positives) enad misclassification (false positives)?

Any ideas?

ps.: 1. I guess the second thought wasn’t totally unrelated at all to the first, since I ended talking about true positives and false positives.

ps.2: Apologizes to Brazilian people. I guess most (all?) of people interested in my personal situation are Brazilians who speak portuguese and thus I should say it in portuguese, not english. But i’ve been quite busy these days.

Sobre Manoel Galdino

Corinthiano, Bayesiano e Doutor em ciência Política pela USP.
Esse post foi publicado em friday, internet, Manoel Galdino e marcado , , , . Guardar link permanente.

2 respostas para I almost forgot the Friday post!

  1. Eduardo Leoni disse:

    Tá trabalhando onde, cara? Parece bacana …

  2. É uma empresa que chama hyperativa. Eles trabalham no setor de marketing, e tem dados de consumidores para serem analisados. Rola até uns experimentos lá. Acho que vai ser legal sim.

Deixe uma resposta

